### Governor's FY 2018 Budget: Articles

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee February 7, 2017

# Introduction

- Article 20 Minimum Wage
- Article 21 Department of Labor and Training Fees and Fines
  - Apprentice fees
  - Employee misclassifications
  - Electrical trades violations
  - Employer wage & hour violations
  - Employer unemployment tax penalties

- Increases minimum wage
  - From \$9.60 to \$10.50 per hour
  - Effective October 1, 2017
- Last increased by 2015 Assembly
  - From \$9.00 to \$9.60 per hour
  - Effective January 1, 2016
- Increased 3 times between 2013 & 2016
  - Prior to 2013, last increased 2007

<b>Recent RI History</b>		
Effective	Hourly Wage	
1999	\$6.15	
2004	\$6.75	
2006	\$7.10	
2007	\$7.40	
2013	\$7.75	
2014	\$8.00	
2015	\$9.00	
2016	\$9.60	

State	Minimum Wage
Connecticut	\$10.10
Maine*	\$9.00
Massachusetts	\$11.00
New Hampshire	\$7.25
Rhode Island	\$9.60
Vermont	\$10.00
U.S. Average	\$8.40
Data from US Department of Labor as of 1/1/17; *ME as of 1/7/17	

 Vermont will be indexed to inflation starting in 2019; Maine will be indexed beginning after 2020

# Federal minimum of \$7.25Last raised in 2009

### States w/ higher minimum wage:

California - \$10.50	Connecticut - \$10.10
Arizona - \$10.00	Vermont - \$10.00
Arkansas - \$9.80	Oregon - \$9.75
New York - \$9.70	D.C \$11.50

State Minimum Wage Tiers		
\$7.25	21	41%
\$7.26 - \$8.49	9	18%
\$8.50 - \$9.50	9	18%
> \$9.51	12	24%
Total	51	100%
Includes Washington D.C. Data from US Department of Labor as of 1/1/17		

### Exception wages for:

- Employees receiving gratuities or incentive-based wages
- Full-time students under 19 years of age working in nonprofit religious, educational, library, or community service organizations
- Workers 14 and 15 who do not work more than 24 hours in a week
- Workers employed in domestic service

- Direct state budget expenditure impact relates only to the Department of Environmental Management
  - Certain seasonal workers
  - Estimated FY 2018 impact ~\$0.1 million

FY 2018 Budget		
Apprentice fees	\$(45,000)	
Employee misclassifications	100,000	
Electrical trades violations	100,000	
Employer wage & hour violations	150,000	
Failure to maintain payroll records*	300,000	
<b>Total General Revenues</b>	\$605,000	
Unemployment tax penalties	125,000	
Total All Sources	\$730,000	

\*Not part of the article but revenues assumed in Governor's budget

### Sections 1 – 4: Apprentice Fees

	Annual
Apprentices	Fee
Electricians	\$20
Plumbers, Irrigators Water System Installers	\$20
Mechanical Trades (sprinkler fitter, sheet metal, pipefitter, refrigeration/AC)	\$24
All other apprentices	\$24
Apprenticeship program sponsor	\$120

### Sections 1 – 4: Apprentice Fees

- Exemption for some
  - Sponsors holding contractor/master license
  - Apprentices in US Department of Labor approved educational programs
- Article would eliminate all fees
- DLT requested legislation as a mechanism to incentivize employers to establish apprenticeship programs

- Sections 1 4: Apprentice Fees
  - Governor's budget includes loss of \$45,000

Fiscal Year	Revenue
FY 2014	\$41,000
FY 2015	\$37,634
FY 2016	\$42,445

- Section 5: Electrical Trades Violations
  - Current law:
    - \$500 for first violation
    - \$950 for subsequent violations
  - Article 21 increases penalty for violations
    - \$1,500 for first violation
    - \$2,000 for subsequent violations
  - Would be consistent with the other trades in the professional regulation unit
  - Budget includes \$100,000 more revenue

- Section 6: Employer Wage & Hour Violations
  - New penalty for employers that violate wage & hour laws
    - 15%-25% of total wages owed for a first violation
    - 25%- 50% for subsequent violations in a three year period
  - \$150,000 in additional revenue assumed
    - About 500 claims annually

- Section 6: Employer Wage & Hour Violations
  - In determining the penalty, the DLT director shall consider the following:
    - Good faith of the employer
    - Gravity of the violation
    - History of previous violations
    - Whether violation was "innocent mistake" or "willful violation"

- Section 7: Employee Misclassification
  - Increase employee misclassification minimum penalty
    - \$500 to \$1,500 for each misclassification
  - Estimated to generate \$100,000
    - Shared between DLT & claimant pursuant to state law
  - Budget includes \$100,000 additional revenue
    - Appears only \$50,000 would go to state

### Section 7: Employee Misclassification

- Article does not change maximum penalties
  - \$3,000 for 1<sup>st</sup> /\$5,000 for subsequent offenses
- In determining the penalty, the DLT director shall consider the following:
  - Good faith of the employer
  - Gravity of violation
  - History of previous violations
  - Whether violation was "innocent mistake" or "willful violation"

- Section 7: Employee Misclassification
  - 2014 Assembly created task force to combat the underground economy & prevent misclassification of employees
    - Representatives of DLT, Taxation, DBR, AG, State Police and Workers' Compensation Court
    - Tasked with educating business owners & employees, joint investigations, protecting workers' rights, & restoring competitive equality for law abiding businesses

- Failure to Maintain Payroll Records
  - Current law requires employer to maintain payroll records for 3 years
  - DLT has right to access and inspect records
    - Standard practice is to request 3 years of info when complaints are received
    - Department handles about 500 claims annually
      - About 20% of those investigations reveal employers without payroll records

- Failure to Maintain Payroll Records
  - DLT will implement a new penalty for employers that do not maintain payroll records
  - \$250 per quarter
    - Would be \$3,000 for an employer that does not maintain payroll records for 3 years
  - Authority through rules and regulations
  - Not in Article but Governor's budget assumes \$300,000 in additional revenues

### Section 8: UI Penalties

- Current law: Employers must make quarterly wage reports to DLT for accurate determination of UI benefits owed
  - \$25 penalty for failure to submit data for each month report is delinquent up to a max of \$150
  - Increases maximum penalty to \$200

### Section 8: UI Penalties

- Current law: \$10 penalty for failure to submit a timely employer unemployment tax report
  - Levied every day up to max of \$150
  - Increases penalty to \$25 with a maximum of \$200
  - Penalty for non-payment unchanged at 10% of amount due
- Neither fee has increased in decades
- Both measures expected to generate \$125,000 of receipts for DLT

### Governor's FY 2018 Budget: Articles

Staff Presentation to the House Finance Committee February 7, 2017